The Fraunhofer IZI-BB

The Branch of Bioanalytics and Bioprocesses of IZI-BB focuses on analytics, diagnostics, biosystems technology and biological safety to address promising, sustainable fields of development.

The origins of the present-day Fraunhofer IZI-BB date back to 1998 with the founding of the Molecular Bioanalytics branch of Fraunhofer IBMT in Potsdam-Rehbrücke and its receipt of the BMBF BioFuture prize. In 2001, it was integrated into what was the Fraunhofer Working Group on Medical Biotechnology (ABMT) at the time. The branch of the IBMT, which has a total usable space of approximately 4,300 m2, was established in Potsdam-Golm in the budding research park near the University of Potsdam, the MPI and the Golm founder center. Construction began in 2004 and the inauguration took place in 2007.

As a result of implementing internal synergy-promoting strategies, the institute branch became affiliated with Fraunhofer IZI in 2014. The branch is the fourth Fraunhofer IZI center in Germany along with the main site in Leipzig, the Branch of Drug Design and Target Validation (IZI-MWT) in Halle (Saale) as well as the Branch of Extracorporeal Immunomodulation in Rostock. Due to its infrastructure and history, the administration of the institute branch is fully independent.

Organization Chart of the Fraunhofer IZI-BB

Director (acting) Dr. Eva Ehrentreich-Förster
Head of Administration Katja Okulla
Marketing & Communication Dr. Katharina Kasack
Biosystem Integration and Process Automation  
Head of Department PD Dr. Ralph Hölzel (acting)
ivD Platform/PoC Technologies Dr. Harald Peter (acting)
Biomolecular Nanostructures and Measurement Technology PD Dr. Ralph Hölzel
Biomimetic Functional Materials Dr. Nenad Gajovic-Eichelmann
Laboratory and Process Automation Dipl.-Biol. Jörg Henkel
Cell-free and Cell-based Bioproduction  
Head of Department Dr. Stefan Kubick
Cell-free Protein Synthesis Dr. Stefan Kubick
Eukaryotic Lysates Dipl.-Ing. Doreen Wüstenhagen
Functional Nucleic Acids – Aptamers Dr. Marcus Menger
Extremophile Research and Biobank CCCryo Dr. Thomas Leya
Molecular and Cellular Bioanalytics  
Head of Department Dr. Eva Ehrentreich-Förster
Microarray and Sensor Technology Dr. Eva Ehrentreich-Förster
Biomarker Validation and Assay Development PD Dr. Harald Seitz
Molecular Bio Engineering Dr. Markus von Nickisch-Rosenegk
Microsystems for in vitro Cell Models Dr. Katja Uhlig
Microfluidic Cell Processing and Cell Analytics Dr. Michael Kirschbaum